Daily Prompt: Immortalized in Stone: Grandmother’s Love

27 Dec

Today I’ll write a response to the daily prompt, but this is also day three of this week’s writing challenge.

Weekly Writing Challenge: Just Do It!.

Daily Prompt: Immortalized in Stone.

Your personal sculptor is carving a person, thing or event from the last year of your life. What’s the statue of and what makes it so significant?

This prompt made me think of all the significant events of this past year. And there were certainly not few. I feel I have evolved so much. I feel I changed so much. I feel my focus, my dreams, my goals and my future has changed. People came and go. I became estranged with many former friends and with my family, despite living in the same house with them. I made new friends, people who I would have never thought would come into my life and mean so much to me. But I have always thought preserving the past does you no good, and the people who just arrived will be there tomorrow. So what or who would I keep a memento of for forever?

The answer is simple. It’s the reason I have become who I am today. It’s the person who raised me since I was a few days old. The person who loves me most and unconditionally. The person who forgets all my mistakes and forgives me each time I do wrong. It is she who has stood by me every single time I needed help and offered me her shoulder to cry on far more many times than I could recall. It is she who told me good night and tucked me in, it is she to whom I ran every single time I had a nightmare. It is she who learned all lessons together with me and it is only her that I can say “I love you” to without lying.

It’s my beloved grandmother.

I am certain all grandmothers are amazing, but I would bet all I have that mine is the greatest. At one point I thought it’s not doing me any good to count on her as much as I do. I knew she would not be with me forever, and especially if I left for university. I decided I should be able to care for myself: cook, do the laundry, learn by myself, everything she used to do for me. And I did. It wasn’t easy but it wasn’t as hard either. But I missed her. I missed her so much and I realised she wasn’t doing all those things for me because she thought me incapable. She did them because she loved me, and simply wanted to be helpful, to make my life easier in what way she could until she could. And I loved her even more because of that. This year I decided I would enjoy every moment I can have with her, especially since she is not young anymore. I changed my mind about getting accustomed to live without her. I still need her and love her and want to cherish every second I can get with her. It doesn’t matter that it will hurt more when she will be gone. I will have the memories and all the lessons she taught me.

grandmother

So a sculpture of her would only be appropriate in my life right now, but I am certain no physical representation would do her justice. no material can show the kindness and wisdom in hey eyes. No stone could immortalise her smile that she used only when looking at me. Nothing could show her grey hair never styled but always perfect with one of my clamps in it.  And her voice would still be lost. It will only stay in my memory, her caring, sweet voice that soothes me still. Bit this is not a time to be sad. It is a time to be happy she is still with me, still loving me, still caring for me. And it is the time to make her feel as special she is. And this is what I’ve been trying to do the entire past year and this is why she is the single most important thing in my life.

grandmother

I love you granny,

Laura

3 Responses to “Daily Prompt: Immortalized in Stone: Grandmother’s Love”

  1. communityramblings 28/12/2012 at 2:13 pm #

    There is no doubt that whatever your personal circumstances the love of your grandmother is an unbelievable experience. Sadly own Granny died more than 20 years ago but she is still fondly remembered by all of her children and grandchildren.

    • DontYouKnowMe 28/12/2012 at 8:36 pm #

      It truly is. I’m sorry to hear about your grandmother but am happy that she is still felt. Thank you for reading

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. THE DEATH OF DEPRESSION « hastywords - 28/12/2012

    […] Daily Prompt: Immortalized in Stone: Grandmother’s Love « Don’t You Know Me? […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

